Skip to content

Self study

February 7, 2012

It’s a week since I finished my intensive advanced Hebrew course, and now I have the challenge of keeping up the attained level, and even improving it. Until the weather improves and/or I get a job, I’m spending most of my time at home with the baby, mostly conversing only with my husband (in English, although we throw in the odd conversation or snippet in other languages too), so to keep my mind and skills tuned, I’m devoting much of my online time to working on all of my languages, plus starting a new one.

This new blog is intended not just to be a record of my studies (which likely wouldn’t be of much interest to anyone else), but also to be a place to write in those languages, when I feel like it. (I may well use Lang-8 or other such sites to get those posts looked over by native speakers, rather than embarrassing myself too much.) Where I’m reading in languages other than English, there may be overlap with my other blog, although I’m not doing much over there at all these days.

For reference, my current languages of use and study are:

  • English – my native tongue
  • French – I was fluent, and still read it well, but I don’t speak it often enough
  • Hebrew – I’m pretty comfortable speaking it now, even though I stumble
  • German – very rusty, especially in speaking
  • Irish – I look at a book every now and then, but really nothing since school
  • Russian – just starting this

I’m also working on JavaScript with CodeYear from Code Academy. It’s certainly no natural language, but may well come up here from time to time.

I studied linguistics at university, and was especially enamoured of syntax and generative grammar, so it’s just possible some of that could come up occasionally too.

2 Comments
  1. Je vous felicite Monsieur (madame) d’avoir entrepris telle effort d’apprendre le Russe et d’autres langues, una tache tres difficile.
    As I speak French, my native language, I notice how difficult it has become to remember grammar and vocabulary. I stumble and make mistakes, no doubt influenced by Italian and Spanish, my other 2 tongues, So I fully understand your situation.

    http://jcsprenger.com

    • Merci pour les felicitations! Oui, je melange ‘mes’ langues toujours en parlant, mais il faut continuer. La lecture est surtout bien pour apprendre le vocabulaire.

Leave a Reply

