Skip to content

The swift decline in fluency

February 24, 2012

Yeouch! I haven’t been getting out and speaking to people regularly in Hebrew (after five months of four hours per day intensive classes, I’m suddenly down to random and generally brief conversations a couple of times a week) and it really shows in how easily I speak. This is a lot of why I don’t define fluency as to do with how many words I know or anything like that: I still understand all that stuff I learned, and can read or listen to it just as well, as I can in French, but my production is already far more stilted and slow. Not only is that frustrating for me, but it discourages the people I do get to talk to from broadening the conversation, as they are unsure what I can cope with, which in turn means I’m getting less advanced practice.

Yes, I know what I need to do to overcome this: find some people (preferably face-to-face people) to get to know and speak to in Hebrew on a regular basis, at least once a week. I’m thinking about looking for a mother-and-toddler group locally, as that would help to integrate me and the baby into the area (I’ve been here 2.5 years, but I don’t know that many people, and most of those are English speakers – I’m not very good at this), expose her to other children and the language, and give me more opportunity to make friends and speak to actual adults other than my husband on more occasions. (He’s wonderful, of course, but I do need to be more sociable for myself.) Depending on the group, this might just mean discussing childcare, but that’s useful too, and hopefully it’d be more extensive.

So, now I’m making the plan public I have to follow through with it, right? You can all keep me accountable!

From → French, Hebrew

4 Comments
  1. Mother’s groups can be wonderful. I made so many friends through them. Anyway, sounds like a good plan to me.

  2. I can relate to that ! I have been here for about 18 months and I still need to work on my social skills ! Mommy groups will do you good for sure ! Good luck and let us know how it goes !

Leave a Reply

